Day One

I’m writing this first blog post on a serious hangover.

At most house parties, after greeting the host, I generally am pulled like a moth to a flame to the soundsystem and install myself as resident dj. Usually this means I don’t drink as much, as I am hidden away, totally absorbed in which 90s classic should be pumped out next. Unfortunately, this time my friend had set up the soundsystem by the bar.

At about midnight my friend pointed out that I was in fact using an ipad and was free to move with it – I had been so fixated on the playlist that I didn’t even know what I was using. I finally entered the party. What an amazing idea – djing and dancing! I think we should always have mobile djs – like one (wo)man bands – although it might be a lot to carry around if you’re doing it properly and not just using spotify. I see why they put most djs on those platforms.

And I invited half the party to my comedy gig in 30 days time.

There is no gig yet- I have not written anything. No songs, no sketches, no bad puns, – nada. But I will.

Realising I could no longer rely on my inner motivation to achieve anything, I signed up for the Screw Work Let’s Play 30 day challenge. 300 people around the world will be working on projects for 30 days and at the end they will have something to show for it: a book, an organisation, handmade jewellery, or in my case: A 30 MINUTE COMEDY SET.

Back in 2010 I took part in the Funny Women Awards at the Leicester Square Theatre. At the time I was a full time teacher in a challenging school and writing comedy songs was my catharsis. I really wanted to write some songs that weren’t about teaching but once I left, I just had no inspiration. I began writing songs for occasions: birthdays, for new people at work, for people leaving, for weddings – I loved it but they were quite specific to those people and contained a lot of in jokes.

So my challenge to myself is to create a set of songs, stories and sketches that are universally funny. Some songs will be originals, some will be parodies, but I’m going to try and pick topics that I think most people will find funny.

If you have any requests – let me know!

Looking forward to seeing you at the gig in 30 days time! If anyone knows a good venue that I could hire for free – let me know! Otherwise I might be doing my first gig in my living room.

 

One thought on “Day One

Leave a comment